You are here: Home What's On

Absent Friends

By Alan Ayckbourn

Director: Gari Jones

Cast includes: Ignatius Anthony, Amanda Haberland, Clare Humphrey, Gina Isaac, Ben Livingstone, David Tarkenter

Have you ever been to a party and wished you hadn’t?

Desperately devoted wife Diana invites old friends round for tea to try and cheer up recently bereaved Colin. But Colin seems quite happy with his memories whilst the cracks are beginning to show in those around him.

Tea and sympathy turns into trauma as his friends reveal themselves to be shopaholics, hypochondriacs and serial adulterers in this brilliantly cutting comedy of embarrassment.

“nice to sit with your friends now and again, nice” says Marge.

Acclaimed by the Sunday Times as “Mr Ayckbourn’s finest play” it does what he does best – holds up a mirror to everyday life and makes us laugh at what we see.

Early booking is recommended.

Running time: 2 hours including a 20 minute interval

Please note: This production contains smoking.

Past Performances

Thu 23 Feb 7:30pm £9.50
Fri 24 Feb 7:30pm £9.50
Sat 25 Feb 7:30pm £12 - £21
Mon 27 Feb 7:30pm Pay What you Can £9.50 - £15
Tue 28 Feb 7:30pm £9.50 - £15
Wed 29 Feb 7:30pm Talk Back £11 - £17.50
Thu 1 Mar 2:00pm £11 - £17.50
Thu 1 Mar 7:30pm £11 - £17.50
Fri 2 Mar 8:00pm £12 - £21
Sat 3 Mar 2:30pm £11 - £17.50
Sat 3 Mar 7:30pm £12 - £21
Mon 5 Mar 7:30pm £9.50 - £15
Tue 6 Mar 7:30pm Caption Performance £9.50 - £15
Wed 7 Mar 7:30pm £11 - £17.50
Thu 8 Mar 7:30pm £11 - £17.50
Fri 9 Mar 7:30pm £12 - £21
Sat 10 Mar 2:30pm Audio Description £11 - £17.50
Sat 10 Mar 7:30pm £12 - £21

impressive… sure to play to packed houses

This is Total Essex:http
Read More

very, very funny

Colchester Gazette

Absent Friends proceeds at a spanking pace as two marriages unravel in front of us *****

Whatsonstage.com
Read More).html

Mercury Theatre

  • Mercury Theatre, Balkerne Gate, Colchester, CO1 1PT