You are here: Home What's On

Garage Band

by Andy Barrett

Director Paul Hodson Designer Richard Foxton Lighting Designer Dave Blake Sound Designer Rory Cameron

A Mercury Theatre Made in Colchester Production

“A must-see for anyone wanting to put a few teenage kicks back into their life”
Nick Brunger – What’s On Stage

“A comic delight”
Alfred Hickling – The Guardian

Midlife crisis? Well if you’re going to do it, you might as well do it in style!

Four middle-aged, middle-class misfits try to spark a punk revival in this funny, touching and distinctly loud new play, featuring electric guitars, head-banging and existentialist philosophy!

But thirty years on from the mohicans, the glue sniffing and the safety pins through the nose, is there really any place for the ‘spirit of punk’ in a world full of babies, life-insurance and pasta machines?

Garage Band recaptures all the anarchic energy of the late 1970s, with a multi-talented cast thrashing their way through the back-catalogues of bands such as UK Subs, The Damned, Buzzcocks, The Ruts and Lynrd Skynrd, on their way to punk stardom.

Get ready to pogo!
Recommended for 14+yrs

This production will contain haze, strong language and very loud music.

Running time approx 2hrs and 30 minutes including interval

Past Performances

Wed 20 Feb 8:30pm
Thu 21 Feb 8:30pm
Fri 22 Feb 8:30pm
Sat 23 Feb 8:30pm
Mon 25 Feb 8:30pm
Tue 26 Feb 8:30pm Talk Back
Wed 27 Feb 9:30pm
Thu 28 Feb 9:30pm
Fri 1 Mar 2:30pm
Fri 1 Mar 9:30pm
Sat 2 Mar 4:30pm
Sat 2 Mar 9:30pm
Mon 4 Mar 8:30pm
Tue 5 Mar 8:30pm
Wed 6 Mar 9:30pm
Thu 7 Mar 9:30pm
Fri 8 Mar 2:30pm
Fri 8 Mar 9:30pm
Sat 9 Mar 4:30pm
Sat 9 Mar 9:30pm

Punks unite for a pint!

The Mercury’s first Made in Colchester production, Garage Band, about four middle-aged, middle-class misfits trying to spark a punk revival, needs your help. We’...… Read more

Mercury Studio

  • Mercury Studio Theatre, Balkerne Gate, Colchester, CO1 1PT, Essex