Young Playwrights

IMG 2850 2
Show Information
Showing on:
Mon 29 October 2018
Price:
£40 for the term (bursaries available)
Venue:
Make It Space

Learn the craft of writing from an established playwright!

Young Playwrights will learn the basic mechanics of what makes a play a play and then, as an ensemble, write their own 30-45 minute play which will performed by Mercury Youth Theatre in Spring 2019.

Young Playwrights will take a single event – from the news, stories or their imaginations – and then use it to write short scenes.

The sessions will be led by Dan Sherer. Dan is a published playwright, director and teacher. He teaches playwriting at RADA, and has taught it at The University Of Essex. Dan is currently writing a play for the Royal National Theatre.

For 13-18’s. No experience required, just an interest in writing! Sessions take place at the Make It Space, Abbey Field Centre, Ypres Road, Colchester, Essex, CO2 7UW.

Autumn term dates: Mon 29 Oct, Mon 5 Nov, Mon 19 Nov, Mon 26 Nov, Mon 3 Dec, Mon 10 Dec, Mon 17 Dec

You may also be interested in...

Matt Cardle and Michael J Fitch
Matt Cardle & Michael J Fitch: Music & Magic

Showing: Fri 23 Apr 2021

Enjoy this exclusive online event from the comfort of your own home, featuring live music from Matt Cardle and interactive magic from Michael J Fitch M.I.M.C...

More info and tickets
MTFestUK – Cake

Showing: Mon 07 Jun 2021

Fresh from London’s Turbine Theatre, MTFestUK 2021 comes to Colchester, bringing you the very best in new musical theatre. Cake combines rap and RnB with...

More info and tickets
MTFestUK – Tony!

Showing: Mon 07 Jun 2021 - Sun 13 Jun 2021

Fresh from London’s Turbine Theatre, MTFestUK 2021 comes to Colchester, bringing you the very best in new musical theatre. A reckless reappraisal of the...

More info and tickets