Young Playwrights

IMG 2850 2
Show Information
Showing on:
Mon 29 October 2018
Price:
£40 for the term (bursaries available)
Venue:
Make It Space

Learn the craft of writing from an established playwright!

Young Playwrights will learn the basic mechanics of what makes a play a play and then, as an ensemble, write their own 30-45 minute play which will performed by Mercury Youth Theatre in Spring 2019.

Young Playwrights will take a single event – from the news, stories or their imaginations – and then use it to write short scenes.

The sessions will be led by Dan Sherer. Dan is a published playwright, director and teacher. He teaches playwriting at RADA, and has taught it at The University Of Essex. Dan is currently writing a play for the Royal National Theatre.

For 13-18’s. No experience required, just an interest in writing! Sessions take place at the Make It Space, Abbey Field Centre, Ypres Road, Colchester, Essex, CO2 7UW.

Autumn term dates: Mon 29 Oct, Mon 5 Nov, Mon 19 Nov, Mon 26 Nov, Mon 3 Dec, Mon 10 Dec, Mon 17 Dec

You may also be interested in...

Reads – Morgue

Showing: Wed 27 Jan 2021

There’s a beautiful bride on the slab, strange noises coming from the cooler, and the Lord of the Dead is on the rampage. For morticians, Konrad and Milo,...

More info and tickets
A Night In with Jacqueline Woodson

Showing: Thu 28 Jan 2021

What will happen when two families from very different social classes are joined together by an unexpected pregnancy? Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for...

More info and tickets
A Night In with Nikesh Shukla

Showing: Wed 03 Feb 2021

How do you find hope, and even joy, in a world that is racist, sexist and facing climate crisis? How do you prepare your children for it, but also fill them...

More info and tickets