Young Playwrights

IMG 2850 2
Show Information
Showing on:
Mon 29 October 2018
Price:
£40 for the term (bursaries available)
Venue:
Make It Space

Learn the craft of writing from an established playwright!

Young Playwrights will learn the basic mechanics of what makes a play a play and then, as an ensemble, write their own 30-45 minute play which will performed by Mercury Youth Theatre in Spring 2019.

Young Playwrights will take a single event – from the news, stories or their imaginations – and then use it to write short scenes.

The sessions will be led by Dan Sherer. Dan is a published playwright, director and teacher. He teaches playwriting at RADA, and has taught it at The University Of Essex. Dan is currently writing a play for the Royal National Theatre.

For 13-18’s. No experience required, just an interest in writing! Sessions take place at the Make It Space, Abbey Field Centre, Ypres Road, Colchester, Essex, CO2 7UW.

Autumn term dates: Mon 29 Oct, Mon 5 Nov, Mon 19 Nov, Mon 26 Nov, Mon 3 Dec, Mon 10 Dec, Mon 17 Dec

You may also be interested in...

Family Sing-a-long - group of people singing round a piano on a blue background
Family Sing-a-long

Showing: Sun 25 Jul 2021 - Sun 28 Nov 2021

Come and sing your heart out at our monthly musical celebration! It’s unplugged and spontaneous: it’s just the piano, the pianist, the show-tunes and...

More info and tickets
Community Choir - photo of a lady in a red dress, looking up singing with her hands on her chest on a red background
Community Choir
Autumn/winter term

Showing: Thu 29 Jul 2021 - Thu 09 Sep 2021

Come sing with us! Our Community Choir is an evening get-together for adults of all ages with a song in their heart and a spring in their step! In partnership...

More info and tickets
Connects

Showing: Thu 29 Jul 2021

Calling all creatives from the East of England! Come join us at the theatre! This  month we’re hosting our rendezvous for arts professionals looking to make...

More info and tickets