Antigone

A Mercury Production

Antigone - Photo of a girl looking directly to camera with the Antigone title text in front
Show Information
Shows from:
Shows to:
Fri 1 October 2021
Sat 16 October 2021
Price:
£15 - £30
(inc. £1.50 ticket levy)
Genre:
Drama
Venue:
Mercury Theatre
Accessibility:
Relaxed Perfromance Icon Audio Described Performance Icon Captioned Performance Icon

British Premiere

A city which belongs to just one man is no true city

In a war-torn city, two brothers lie dead: one hailed and buried a hero, the other denounced as a traitor, his body to be displayed as a warning to anyone daring to defy the new leader Creon, who is ruthless in her grip on power.

A grieving, defiant Antigone strikes out against Creon’s brutal regime in a furious act of civil disobedience which will have devastating consequences for them both.

The conflict between these fierce, bold women forces them, and those around them, to question their ideas of family and morality, as well as the nature of justice and leadership.

This modern retelling of the classic Greek tragedy is a powerful thriller whose poetic passion transcends time.

Adapted by Merlynn Tong, after Sophocles had its World Premiere at Queensland Theatre

Antigone - Merlynn Tong's Headshot

Merlynn Tong

Writer

Antigone - Dawn Walton OBE Headshot

Dawn Walton OBE

Director

Book Tickets

Date
Time
Price
Accessibility
Book Now
Date
Friday 1st Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Date
Saturday 2nd Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Date
Tuesday 5th Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Date
Wednesday 6th Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Date
Thursday 7th Oct 2021
Time
14:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Date
Thursday 7th Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Date
Friday 8th Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £30.00
Accessibility
Date
Saturday 9th Oct 2021
Time
14:30
Price
£15.00 - £30.00
Accessibility
Date
Saturday 9th Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £30.00
Accessibility
Date
Sunday 10th Oct 2021
Time
15:00
Price
£15.00 - £30.00
Accessibility
Date
Tuesday 12th Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Date
Wednesday 13th Oct 2021
Time
14:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Relaxed Perfromance Icon
Date
Wednesday 13th Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Date
Thursday 14th Oct 2021
Time
13:00
Price
FREE
Accessibility
Note: Touch Tour
Date
Thursday 14th Oct 2021
Time
14:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Audio Described Performance Icon
Date
Thursday 14th Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £25.00
Accessibility
Date
Friday 15th Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £30.00
Accessibility
Captioned Performance Icon
Date
Saturday 16th Oct 2021
Time
14:30
Price
£15.00 - £30.00
Accessibility
Date
Saturday 16th Oct 2021
Time
19:30
Price
£15.00 - £30.00
Accessibility

You may also be interested in...

Baskerville
A Mercury Production

Showing: Fri 30 Jul 2021 - Sun 22 Aug 2021

Baskerville: a Sherlock Holmes Mystery 40 characters. Five actors. One madcap adventure for the world’s most famous detective! Written by comedic genius Ken...

More info and tickets
Sirens
A Mercury Original

Showing: Thu 28 Oct 2021 - Sat 06 Nov 2021

Rory and Gemma break in to the Mersea Island RNLI station on Halloween in 1987. He wants to run away to London. She wants him to notice that’s she’s not...

More info and tickets
Aladdin
A Mercury Production

Showing: Sat 27 Nov 2021 - Sun 16 Jan 2022

Make all your Christmas wishes come true with a trip to the Mercury’s magical pantomime, Aladdin! Journey with us to distant shores where the penniless...

More info and tickets