James and the Giant Peach

7 Aug - 30 Aug
  • Approximate running time 1hr 45minutes, including interval
  • £22.50 – £10 and discounts

After James spills a bag of magic on an old peach tree, he watches in amazement as the tree grows a peach so humongous it’s almost as big as a house! Inside this magical peach James meets the best (and most unusual!) friends a boy could have – five larger than life garden bugs!

Together, James and his new-found friends roll away in the enchanted peach and set out on the adventure of a lifetime. And the best part? You’re coming too!

The action spills out into the audience as you’re carried away by James and his pals in this fantastic summer holiday treat. Join us for a transatlantic voyage from the White Cliffs of Dover all the way to the Empire State Building.

Magical and musical, this stage adaptation of Roald Dahl’s juicy tale is directed by Matthew Cullum, whose production of Friend or Foe was a big hit with Mercury audiences last year. It’s sure to put big smiles on the faces of adults and children alike.

Fantastic for Families

Past Performances

DATE
TIME
Fri, 7 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Sat, 8 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Sat, 8 Aug 15
6:00 pm
Wed, 12 Aug 15
6:00 pm
Thu, 13 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Sat, 15 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Sat, 15 Aug 15
6:00 pm
Sun, 16 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Sun, 16 Aug 15
6:00 pm
Wed, 19 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Wed, 19 Aug 15
6:00 pm
Thu, 20 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Sat, 22 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Sat, 22 Aug 15
6:00 pm
Sun, 23 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Sun, 23 Aug 15
6:00 pm
Wed, 26 Aug 15
6:00 pm
Thu, 27 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Sat, 29 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Sat, 29 Aug 15
6:00 pm
Sun, 30 Aug 15
2:00 pm
Mercury Main Theatre
  • Balkerne Gate, Colchester, CO1 1PT, Essex, UK

Box Office: 01206 573948

The Mercury’s main 499-seater auditorium, with parking nearby at St. Mary’s multi-storey car park!

Find Out More
"A sure-fire summer holiday success"
— The Stage
Follow Us For More

Join Our Mailing List